View Single Post
Old 12-10-2007, 07:48 PM
MyOwnWoman

Default Middle Management aka "The Bad Guys"

Before everyone wants me thrown from a car into the path of a locomotive listen to what I have to say. Today I spent some time re-reading some of the threads here at Nursing Voices and noticed something that I had not noticed before. There seems to be a underlying tone that Middle Management (Nurse Managers/Supervisors) don't care about the day to day frustrations that the floor nurse goes through. The tone of some of the posts indicate that Middle Management's major concern is the budget, making them more Upper Management than the floor nurse thinks they should be.

First, I need to say that I am not Middle or Upper Management. I am straight-up a floor nurse. I am a floor nurse because that is what I choose to be. I don't think, for the most part, that I am Middle Management material because there are too many times that my mouth engages before it should. If you want an opinion on a specific problem, I have no problem giving it to you. You may not like what I have to say, but if you ask, I'm more than willing to tell you. This makes me "not so good" at being in the middle, which, in fact is where Middle Management is.

Middle Management are those nurses who are in between a rock and a hard place. They are suppose to be the staff nurse's advocate while being under the sometimes crushing thumb of Upper Management. Often times, it is Middle Management that takes the brunt of everyone's anger; from both the staff nurse and "the powers that be." While I think that Middle Management's heart is closer to the bedside than Upper Management, it is often hidden from the staff nurses view because of the controversial decisions that they, out of necessity, have to make.