View Full Version : nursing home LPN's

Maremma
01-24-2012, 01:18 PM
I am a new LPN that went back to school "later in life". I am 44 and have only been working as an LPN for 6 months. I worked as a CNA in this facility while I was in school. I have only ever worked in the same nursing home so may or may not have enough information in general to base my decisions.

I have run into so many different issues that strongly concern me while working here. I am guessing that they are all common to every nursing home but want to be sure before I give up on the desire to continue to work with the elderly in a nursing home setting.

Money, money and money are the only bottom line concerns with corporate when any issues are taken to them.Thus why I am assuming that it is the same no matter what nursing home I would apply at.

One of my BIGGEST concerns is how we deal with dementia patients.They seem to be just another "bed fill" to corporate and their condition does not seem to make any difference.
They used to have a dementia unit that was staffed with a higher ratio. They decided to close that unit and turn it into a rehab unit. Now dementia patients are simply placed wherever there is an open bed and no extra staff is provided (at least not on second and third shifts when sun-downers would warrant the extra care.
of course problems came up right quick and so they created the "CSR" room. (constant supervision room) where ONE CNA would be in that room and ALL "fall risk" (Acting out patients) would be put in there to be "kept safe". Well of course you know they are not going to take turns trying to get up and so the CNA could only prevent one fall at a time and someone else would either wind up on the floor or provoking another resident while the CNA was already tending someone else. The solution? Just close CSR room and put all the acting up patients out at the nurse's desk so "everyone" could "watch" them!