View Full Version : What did you do after you finished school?

Jess
09-20-2007, 06:58 PM
Hi all. I'm just curious to know what you did after you finished school. Did you decide to start working right away? Did you take a break?

geenaRN
09-21-2007, 12:26 AM
I had a contract with a local hospital. They gave me a scholarship in exchange for working for them for 3 years after I graduated.

So I did. I started working before I even took boards. I stayed for pretty much *exactly* 3 years and then I moved out here to the West coast. I did have to take a break then - getting one's license in CA takes quite a bit of time. As soon as I got it, I started working again.

Julie
09-21-2007, 02:56 AM
I trained in London and after I qualified I stayed there for a while even though I had moved to out of the city and had to commute by train. I worked in a ward that wasn't part of the NHS but pretty much treated 'health tourists' who were often either Arabs or Greek. We did everything, since the people were both medical and surgical patients. There was however alot of neuro surgery, since one of the consultants used to holiday in cyprus, hold clinics while there and then on his return they and their brain tumors and aneurysms would arrive!!

It was busy and slightly stressful as they were all private rooms and you could see no one from the nurses station, but I found it valuable experience for later. I stayed for about 9 months then moved closer to home.

Mother Jones, RN
09-21-2007, 09:31 AM
I graduated on a Friday, and I reported to work at my local hospital on a Monday. The biggest break that I've ever had from nursing was a two week stretch after the birth of each of my children. I had kids before the establishment of the the Family Leave Act. I would have lost my job if I had been off longer than two weeks. Thank God some things have changed.

:party:

PixelRN
09-21-2007, 01:00 PM