View Full Version : For emergencies...

jojodow
09-21-2007, 11:28 PM
Do you keep Emergency Nurse items in your car? Or with you at any time?

I always keep a couple sets of gloves, my stethescope, some basic first aid stuff like bandaids, alcohol wipes, gauze, tape and scissors in my trunk.

It's only come in handy one time....At a Girl Scout function when one of the girls scraped her leg pretty bad. Not bad enough for a doctor but it needed to be cleaned and covered.

I actually need to restock come to think of it.:questionmark:

Jess
09-22-2007, 12:11 AM
What an awesome idea! You never know when they'll come in handy. :) I don't have a car but I think I will definitely do that when I get a car and when I finish school and graduate. I have some alcohol swabs, bandaids and tape in my bag, but that's about it.

Nurse Stella
09-22-2007, 10:26 AM
Being a Home Health nurse, I have some of just about everything in my car! Sterile gauze, kerlix, duoderm, heck, I can even put a foley in or draw blood if I come across an accident!:laugh:

B.

jojodow
09-22-2007, 04:22 PM
Being a Home Health nurse, I have some of just about everything in my car! Sterile gauze, kerlix, duoderm, heck, I can even put a foley in or draw blood if I come across an accident!:laugh:

B.

Ohmygosh!

I'm just trying to picture an emergency at a Soccer Mom/Girl Scout event that might need a Foley! LOL :laugh:

Now at an AARP event, it might come in handy.

I've got to be careful what I keep in my car though. During Nursing school I kept my check off supplies in my trunk and the Texas heat warped my foley. Had to borrow someone else's for check off on the dummy. :hmpf:

Julie
09-22-2007, 04:28 PM
When I was Stella's UK version of a home health nurse I too had a car full of potentially useful items. I used to empty everything out just before holiday times and even after I had finished doing that job, I kept coming across all kinds of useful equipment in various cupboards around the house!

P/J