View Full Version : Fainting

Jess
09-22-2007, 07:57 PM
Hi all. As a student nurse I really think (and I think I will in the future) I will faint during clinical!

The first time I got to shadow a nurse (not during clinical) she was poking the needle around a woman's hand to draw blood or something (don't remember what she was doing but she did it about 4 times) and I felt fine. Then she still couldn't get it and when she did it for the 5th/6th time, I started seeing white spots and my head got all dizzy. I decided to excuse myself and sat down on a chair, took some deep breaths, etc. I felt okay, but the doctor noticed because he was like "You look quite pale."

Have you ever fainted? Also, I don't have the strongest stomach, so I think I will throw up eventually during clinical (I sure hope not!) Any tips on how I should try not to faint?

jojodow
09-22-2007, 08:53 PM
I vaguled only twice but not as a nurse but as a patient.
The first time not even really as a patient. Back when I was fresh out of High School and needed some money I donated plasma. I passed out right in the middle of a pint....my fault for not eating enough for breakfast. The second time after I slammed my thumb in the car door just a few years ago. Had to see my doctor to exsanguinate the blood under my fingernail. While she did it slowly with a needle I just got all woozy and started getting wall vision and lost my hearing. Had to lay down for a few and then let her resume.

A couple of my classmates fell over watching IV starts and surgeries. Make sure you just keep breathing and keep your knees bent slightly. Locking your knees will cause you to Vagul out for some reason...blood flow shifts. Don't be embarassed,if it happens, you can't help it. :secret:

MyOwnWoman
09-22-2007, 11:20 PM
Here is a real practical one. Tell the nurse who poked the patient 6 times that perhaps if she couldn't get it after 2 she should have stopped.