View Full Version : Being Type A

Caroline
10-11-2007, 01:11 AM
I am a straight A student and it drives me absolutely crazy. I have recently started seeing a therapist to talk about my anxiety, which I hide very well from other students, but on the inside I'm wigging out. Anyone else deal with this?

Part of the problem is my study group. They are all incredibly high achievers and they scare me with how in-depth they study. Literally, when they share their study guides with me, I get so panicky about never being able to memorize all the information (like, 25 pages worth of stuff!) that I end up not studying at all.

My therapist is teaching me some breathing exercises, and how to tune everyone out and focus just before a test (I have a lot of test anxiety) even if it means putting headphones on. I think it's really helping but it's still a huge struggle and I'd like to get it more under control before I start my career.

Not sure why I had the urge to share all this...anyone else have experiences/comments about this?

Jess
10-11-2007, 04:21 PM
I know what you mean. Studying for nursing courses is very stressful and I was just like you! I was a straight A student and all that, but now when I get a C+ or a B-, I say positive things like "Hey, it could've been worse, I could've gotten a C-!" Before looking at exam marks or something, I always don't think "I need a B+, I hope I got a B+." Instead, I think lower, like "I hope I got above a C-." Keep your expectations low so even if you do get a B+, you'll be very happy that you didn't get a C-.

Just keep reviewing, reading, re-reading and take deep breaths. If you really know the material and it's in your head, you'll do fantastic.

miss-elaine-ious
10-12-2007, 03:06 AM
I'm a type A as well. I think the best thing thus far is that you recognize that what you are doing is detrimental for your health and are seeking help!

I know how you feel as I am also a type A, in a program with multitudes of Type A's.