View Full Version : night shift

simms07
11-29-2007, 05:19 PM
I will be graduating nursing school in a few weeks, and I have landed my first job...night shift. I have never worked night shift before. I'm excited about the job, but a little worried about staying awake. Does anyone have any tips?

Mother Jones, RN
11-29-2007, 09:52 PM
Night shift is tough to do if you're not a night owl, but it can be done. I guess the biggest thing is to sleep at the same time everyday, even when it's your day off. I work with a gal that has worked night shift for years. She never changes her routine, even when she's on vacation. Good luck with you new job.

MJ:pepsi:

Mr Ian
12-02-2007, 01:52 PM
Try and get a shift with a male nurse on.

Slip some ****** in his cappuccino about 11pm.

Stay awake for hours laughing.

Elocin22
12-03-2007, 10:33 PM
No coffee/caffeine after 3 am. Otherwise you'll wake up at 1 P.M., which sucks. Also, sleep in your basement, if you have one. It's darker, cooler, quieter. My sleep improved immensely when we moved down there.

I do rotate back and forth as far as routine goes. I usually go to bed around 11-1 and get up around 11-12 in the morning. Some people stay up late the night before their first shift on. I always end up waking up early when I do that and then I get anxious about napping in the afternoon and can't sleep. I just make sure and get a good night's rest.

Good luck, and welcome to the night shift!

kate loving shenk
12-04-2007, 11:41 AM
i love night shift.

the people on this shift are team players. you get to know one another better because you are all despartly trying to stay awake and thus, are in the same grueling situation!! LOL!!

personally, i work nights--3 twelve hour days back to back, so i can do my writing during the day on my days off.

other great reasons i work night shift: 1) no administration 2) no extra noise 3) nurses are more autonomous