View Full Version : Future Nurse (?)

indya_louise
01-18-2008, 09:19 AM
Hey, I found this forum a few days ago and have to say I've really enjoyed reading about everyone's experiences as nurses. I'm 21 and I've applied to nursing school here in Northern Ireland and I'm waiting to hear back from them to know whether I've been accepted or not (well, the next step would be an interview). At the minute I'm a Trust Home Care Worker, meaning that I work in the community for my local health trust, providing care to people within their own homes.
So, I'm really glad to find this place, it's brilliant to hear from nurses around the world, makes me antsy to get to uni and see if I'm cut out for it!

Nice to meet you all :curtsey:

indya

TheBean
01-18-2008, 09:28 AM
Hi Indya! Welcome! The members of this board offer really sage advice and great support. I'm a nursing student myself. Hope you hear back from your school soon.

LesleyJoy
01-18-2008, 09:32 AM
Welcome, Indya! It is good to meet you. Please keep us posted on your progress.

One of the things I like about nursing is the opportunity to self-select to different disciplines within the profession of nursing. Over these many years I have worked in emergency ground and air transportation, in hospitals, and as a hospice nurse seeing people in their homes. I now serve as a patient care services supervisor. While this job title means different things in different hospitals, what it means for me is that I am neither fish (senior management) nor fowl (staff nurse). Rather, I bridge the gap between the two. I ensure the emotional and physical safety of staff so that they can do their work. I also act as a clinical resource and a politician as needed.

When you have a moment, won't you please share with us information about nursing in Ireland?

Thanks!

Joy

Julie
01-18-2008, 07:00 PM
Welcome Indya Louise it is great to see someone else from the UK. Looking forward to hearing about your journey into Nurse Training!!

geenaRN