View Full Version : Words of Wisdom

Mother Jones, RN
01-18-2008, 09:02 PM
There are a lot of new grads walking the hallways of my hospital, and I always tell them to speak up and not let others push them around. I just wondering, what words of wisdom do you give to new grads? :nurse:

MJ :pepsi:

runningnurse
01-18-2008, 10:41 PM
Being a fairly recent grad myself (2 yrs ago) I always tell students to ask ask ask, no question is stupid...the more you ask the better people are going to feel about you and your practice. I learned the hard way:banghead: but got through it and love where I work now.

geenaRN
01-19-2008, 01:12 AM
Always chart with a jury in mind. When something happens and you chart about it, re-read what you wrote and ask yourself if it would stand up in court.

MyOwnWoman
01-20-2008, 01:03 PM
Good advice Geena, and I might add..... "if you didn't chart it, you didn't do it."

PixelRN
01-20-2008, 05:02 PM
Now that I use paper charting I just to try to write stuff as unintelligibly as possible so no one can question what I did.

ONLY KIDDING PEOPLE!!!
:wave:

Seriously, though, I tell newbie nurses to not be too hard on themselves. No matter what, the first two years of nursing are going to be the most difficult, so you have to congratulate yourself just for the sheer act of surviving them.
:highfive:

P/J
01-21-2008, 08:11 PM
Oh, you should hear some of the stupid questions that get asked in our class. There are definatly stupid questions!:crutches: