View Full Version : Career Paths

Alittlenurse
01-28-2008, 12:05 PM
Hi All!

I'm a new BSN graduate awaiting to take state boards. I've not started working immediately as my husband will have to change jobs soon and we have 3 small children. So, with all this time, I'm trying to decide where to start my nursing career.

So my initial question is, do all nursing careers start on the hospital floors?

I've never felt that I'd be a good fit, although there are a few areas I wouldn't mind trying out (Psych and critical care for examples). However, I see myself more in community, hospice, technology, and other areas. Are employers for these other areas looking for experienced nurses?

I realize that the experience will be better in the long run, but with my family situation, I don't want to try to commit to something I might not be able to fulfill starting out.

Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated!!

A.

geenaRN
01-28-2008, 03:10 PM
First of all:

we have 3 small children. So, with all this time

:spit-take:

Ok then - anyway -

I'm sure not all nursing careers start out on the floors, but I'm betting that the majority do.

I've never regretted the 6 months of med/surg that I had and do honestly believe that it better prepared me for critical care. But that's just my personal experience.

What do you mean by not committing to something you might not be able to fulfill? Do you think you could stick it out for 6 months - 1 year?

If not, you could always try to get a job in an area that you prefer.... if you find that you aren't getting hired for those jobs due to lack of experience, you could always then go to med/surg/tele, etc and go that route to eventually end up where you want to be.

Good luck!

:sheep:

runningnurse
01-28-2008, 11:35 PM