View Full Version : Encouraging LTC Nurse Administrators

gracenotes1
02-19-2008, 12:41 PM
I was a DON for 7 years. 2 weeks into a new position I was involved in a wreck with a tractor trailer truck on my way to work. I haven't been able to work since. The Doctors told me that I would need face the fact that I could no longer nurse. I was devastated. Nursing was all I knew.
I continue to be a nurse advocate but my career has shifted to writing. I am a Christian Inspirational Writer and Author of two books.
I have always kept a journal, especially during my years as DON.
I really would like to mentor new DONs and ADONs. So if I can be of service to answer questions I will be glad to.

gracenotes1
02-20-2008, 12:28 PM
May the good Lord bless you and keep you. And give you peace.

Follow the Leadership of Jesus
(1 Thessalonians 2:4-6 NIV) On the contrary, we speak as men approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel. We are not trying to please men but God, who test our hearts. You know we never used flattery, nor did we put on mask to cover up greedóGod is our witness. We were not looking for praise from men, not from you or anyone else.

Ask yourself why you do what you do. Do you do it so that you can advance yourself? Or do you make your decisions based on the good of all involved? As a nurse you will be asked to make some stat decisions. As an RN you are ready for that. But as a manager you may find yourself stomping out small fires all day long.

You must know from where your motivation comes. Every decision that you make is going to affect someone. Think about that before you act.

Donít react. Think about your reaction before it occurs. You can either think about it before you react or you can think about it after you act. It is your choice. Clean up now or clean up later.