View Full Version : Time Management

Oz30
06-13-2008, 01:18 AM
Hi All

I'm new to this site and was hoping to get some feedback regarding what you do to keep your shift running according to plan (or as close as possible?) I'm fairly new to nursing and feel I need to improve my time management skills.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Oz26

thejester
06-13-2008, 07:14 AM
Hi All

I'm new to this site and was hoping to get some feedback regarding what you do to keep your shift running according to plan (or as close as possible?) I'm fairly new to nursing and feel I need to improve my time management skills.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Oz26

Hi Oz,

At first I would like to say that it's not possible to stay with the plan that you make when you start youre shift. The trick is to learn how to change youre plan when necessary. What's got priority? Make a "to do" list. Take a second to think about what you are doing. When you need to make a walk for a bandage, think about what you are going to need for the next patient and bring that to. It will save you a walk. Try to work fast without the patient noticing it. So stay friendly and relaxed. Make sure that you know what youre collegue is doing, maybe she has got time to help you out with something with more priority.

I hope you understand what I am trying to say... :idea2:

greetz
Jessica

Mother Jones, RN
06-13-2008, 02:32 PM
Hi there. I agree with Jessica. There is one basic rule that governs time management on a patient care unit: There are no rules. There are some days that you just fly by the seat of your pants. Keep patient care as your top priority and everything else will fall into place.

MJ :pepsi:

Oz30
06-14-2008, 06:57 PM
Thanks fo the replies - hopefully things will improve with time.

Oz30

P/J
06-14-2008, 07:46 PM