View Full Version : IS A YEAR ONE NURSING STUDENT QUALIFIED TO BE A personal care worker?

ilumi
01-26-2009, 12:11 AM
hello everone
i am a year one nursing student in AUSTRALIA
i just finished my first clinical placement in aged care requird by nursing course
it took 2 weeks
after that i think i can find a part time job as a personal care workers in aged care place
it took me one month to send my resume, but unfortunately all the answer i got from the aged care certers is: i am not qualified, because i dont have certificate 3, i am so confused
can anyone tell me if i need to pay 1000 -2000 dallors to study certificate 3 or keep sending resume, i really want to find a part time job for some finacial reasons,
thanks a lot

Mr Ian
01-26-2009, 01:49 AM
Hi ilumi

It depends a lot on the organisation and where you are in Oz. I don't think there is a legal requirement anywhere - my partner started working whilst undertaking the Cert III.

If a place would take you on while working towards your Cert III then I'd suspect they'd also take you on whilst working towards your RN even tho the Cert III is more practical skills based. But you can't account for some 'policies'.

Most places prefer HCAs to have Cert III before they start - so they might prefer to see you get a year under your belt before you meet their minimum.

*Just an additional note: "Completing" the 2 weeks clinical placement would not make you a competent aged care anything.

(Note to UK peeps - Cert III = NVQ III type thing)

P/J
01-26-2009, 02:00 AM
The answer is a conditional YES. After your first set of clinical practicals you should be able to work as a PCA in the age care and hospital setting (depending on where you did your practical). You must however have passed all the requirements of the subject (exams, assignments, practice reports) and be able to show that it is the same as a certIII.