View Full Version : Against medica advice

telern
03-13-2009, 02:27 AM
Hi everyone! This is a great site but I am really new to this so help me if I am doing this wrong. I was looking for a site to get some opinions and advice. I work on a Telemetry unit in a hospital that does not have enough tele for the patient demand. In the last year our cno decided that when all the tele units are being used and there are more admits waiting for tele that the nurses on the unit will choose who they think is the most stable patient to come off tele and place the pt on a portable tele monitor. The portable units sit in the "chosen" patient's room with no one monitoring. Our cno says that we should just turn up the alarm volume on the portable monitor and that is just as good as someone continually watching for changes. I don't know if everyone is familiar with a tele unit but there are all kinds of alarms going off all the time, and by the time you find where the alarm is coming from the event is over, hopefully with no harm to the patient. My problem with this is a doc has ordered for their patient to be monitored. Who am I to decide their patient should receive inferior care? What if the chosen "stable patient" suddenly decides to be not so stable? We have no policy to refer to on this and if something bad should happen who do you think will take the fall? Not the doc who's order is not being followed, certainly not the hospital who has no written policy for chosing a stable patient to come off tele against dr orders. It will be the RN who decided at fault. Can you see it in court? just wondering if anyone else has been place in a situation like this? I feel like my license is on line every time we are made to this. Any advice?:egg:

Julie
03-13-2009, 05:05 AM
Once is enough thanks

Mother Jones, RN
03-13-2009, 08:16 AM